the field trip

Before the museum, there was anticipation.

Promise that you’re coming on our field trip, mom?” With my affirmation, a relieved sigh and smile.

And then after, there was peaceful satisfaction.

“I am the luckiest one because I got to be with you ALL day.”

Those words, they washed away all the frustration and fatigue I felt from the day. For it became apparent to me that first grade boys and museums aren’t exactly best friends. Museums don’t smile upon running, or touching, or speed. Things my first grader is very fond of.

But those words. Those words. They made it so very worth it.

I will remember them. Always.

DSC_7317DSC_7323DSC_7325DSC_7328DSC_7351DSC_7347DSC_7354DSC_7355DSC_7353DSC_7359DSC_7362DSC_7343DSC_7366DSC_7368DSC_7372

One thought on “the field trip

Leave a Reply

