around here

DSC_0063 copy

Around here I am missing my big kids. Yup, I’m lonely.

Around here getting everybody up and out at 7:30 is making me tired. And having everyone return in a state of chaos – tired, hyper, and crabby – is taking it’s toll. And it’s only the second week of school! Yikes!

Around here, in the midst of all that chaos, I am learning to rest in God. This morning I woke up and dreaded doing the routine all over again. I was lamenting the weekend that went by too quickly. I was angry I had to get out of my comfy bed. I was dreading the hurry-hurry of getting kids ready for school. I was despairing of having another lonely day. And then I got a lovely email from a friend. It said, “Matt 11:28….come to me and I will Rest you (in the Greek). He will rest us, we just come.” Then I knew I needed to surrender my day to HIM. I needed to COME and find his rest. So I stopped, prayed, and gave him my day. Even though I’m not jumping for joy about our school routine I can find peace and rest in God.

Around here Noah and I are enjoying some quality time. I’m noticing funny little things about him that I have never seen before. He actually likes playing on his own. He’ll tinker with toys for a long time without begging me to entertain him. Breath of fresh air compared to the way the two other boys were at this age!

Around here I am learning to adjust toย quietย all day.

Around here I am starting to catch up on my project life scrapbook. Hopefully I’ll have pages to share with you soon!

Around here we’re brainstorming baby names. Only 8 weeks to go until the little one arrives and we’re at a loss for a boys name…

Around here we’re diving head first into the soccer season. We started out last week with two practices and a game for Ryan and we’ll continue this routine well into October. This is Ryan’s first organized sport and he is loving it so far! (He is so proud, in fact, that he invites people to his practices, convinced that people would want to witness them.)

Around here I’m enjoying the last pieces of homemade blueberry pie every day while trying to make it last as long as possible. Eating two pieces last night probably didn’t help that goal.

Around here I am taking advantage of every sunny day we have by sitting on the deck and reading.

Around here life is good. Not always easy, but good. Thank you, God.

6 thoughts on “around here

  1. That picture is so cute! That blessed my heart to hear you discover new little things about Noah, how fun and so thankful with you that He likes to play by himself. I am exhausted too and I only have two, but I am laying on the couch right now trying to recover a little and getting energy for the rest of the night. I’m not pregnant, I don’t have as many, but I am 40 ๐Ÿ™‚

    What a friend we have in Jesus, Blessed assurance, Salvation is Mine! I will be merciful to your unrighteousness and remember your sins No More!!!

    Lynn ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I love you Amy, My prayer is that God will continue to point you to rest in him and find peace in the lonely time and peace in the crazy times. It is awesome to know God is with us in those lonely times, Matthew 28:20 And surely I AM with you always, to the very end of the age. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ๐Ÿ™‚ I just heard about Ryan’s Saturday Soccer Games! I’d love to come see them if that’s alright. Oh, how I love watching events with people I know involved in them. Very exciting!!
    So happy for you and your rest in God. May God continue to meet you in your day to day activities ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

