Daniel’s well | part two

I seriously love the people who read this blog. Yes, you. I love you.

Since I posted Daniel’s well, the response from my readers has been overwhelming.

You gave us your spare change, savings jars, and your pop cans. (You should have seen our van – full to the middle seat with bags of pop cans! What a blessing!) Every Sunday our church mailbox has another baggie of coins in it. And we are so thankful there are so many people out there who want to help.

And we made it!

DSC_0186copy

(This is the face of one overwhelmed and excited little boy!)

We have reached our goal for our well, thanks to all of you!

Our grand total is $161.00. And we are so thankful for all the support from YOU and our loved ones.

Being able to buy a village a well that they so desperately need is humbling. It reminds me of all the things I have that I take for granted. It reminds me that I have the power to do so much more to help others than I do. It convicts my heart of how self-centered I truly am.

Hopefully, this experience will help Daniel (and all my kids) think outside of themselves a little bit more. So that giving and loving becomes a normal part of their lives. I know this first comes by modeling, so I also pray it changes me. I spend a disproportionate amount of time worrying about how I will get the camera I want. Or what color I want to paint my living room. Or even what I’m hungry for. I am very ME centered. I know it is hard to live in this culture and not be self-centered. But I really don’t want that to be my excuse. I know people with a giving-spirit and they are far happier than I have ever been. They also have everything they need and so much more. I want to be like that. I want to trust God that his way is the best way.

We’ll be purchasing our well through Water Aid . Check out their website, there are many other water “gifts” you can give. And they have the power to change someone’s life. Pretty amazing.

2 thoughts on “Daniel’s well | part two

  1. HURRAY!!! 🙂
    Good job Daniel!!
    Thank you God for this little boy with a big heart and all those who pitched in in so many ways!!

Leave a Reply

