rest in HIS shadow

Sometimes I really do just feel like giving up and hiding.

Like crawling back under my covers and shutting out the world.

Like hunkering down in my house for the rest of my life so I don’t have to worry if my jeans are too worn out, or my scarf is so-two-years-ago.

Like never reaching out to others because I am afraid they will push me away.

It’s so much easier to be hidden.

Being out there feels hard. Risky.

Today is one of those days.

When I feel like this – insecure, unsure, unstable, overwhelmed – I realize that I have left my solid rock and floated off into a land where what man says matters more than what God says. A place where I am overly concerned with circumstances instead of God’s constant and sure promises.

“He gives strength to the weary, and increases the power of the weak…those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength.”  Isaiah 40:29,31

In times like this I need to return my hope to God. Return to my resting place. My solid rock.

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.” Psalm 91:1

This is my 911 verse. My having-an-emergency-and-need-a-solution verse. It takes me awhile to get to it, because I use it when I’m at the end of myself. When I’ve tried everything on my own to be okay, and finally realize HE will make me okay.

Dwell in HIS shelter.

Rest in HIS shadow.

Lovely. Being in HIS shadow sounds divine. So protected.

So now I will breathe. Start over. Return to his shelter. Dwell. And Rest.

Thank you, Father.

6 thoughts on “rest in HIS shadow

    • It is amazing how quickly I can be overwhelmed. I think it’s my introvert personality. And thank you for the reminder to go back out. I can forget that is the next step.

  1. Thank you for this, Amy! I needed to hear this too. It’s easy for me to get caught up in what I think other people must be thinking. I often find myself in that land where “what man says matters more than what God says.” God is constant. Man is not. There is security resting in His truths. Thank you for reminding me of this again!

  2. sometimes I find myself getting so overwhelmed, I forget to even breathe! This gave me comfort though, a little reminder..thanks for that:)

Leave a Reply

