a project completed | week in the life

DSC_0806copy

Well I did it! I finally completed a scrapbook project that I started way back in the summer of 2011. It’s been hanging over my head all this time. Don’t get me wrong, it was a great project and I am glad I did it. But it was time consuming. And when you’re a procrastinator like me, time-consuming is a scary, heavy word. My solution to those type of projects: avoidance.

But it all changed for me when I saw my friend Toni’s beautifully completed album of the same project. Her scrapbook skills are phenomenal. I felt inspired. And strangely enough lately, I’ve felt motivated to finish some stuff up. (Not sure if that’s a permanent personality change for me, but I’m just going with it for now!) Like cleaning and organizing our basement. I spent four solid hours down there the other day sorting, organizing, and re-sorting. It felt SO good. And – gasp! – it was actually fun!  I’d share before and after pictures, but our basement is a scary, dark, dirty, creepy place. No one should have to look at it. Anyway, that’s another story.

Back to my project.

It’s called Week In the Life and was started by Ali Edwards. The concept is to document a week of your normal, every day life in detail. I invite you to read in more detail about this project here on her website, and meanwhile I’ll get right into showing you my completed album. You can click on any picture for a larger, clearer view.

(The album I used is from We R Memory Keepers. I love their albums. All the page protectors I used are also that brand.)

title page

DSC_0744copyMonday

DSC_0747copy

 (The cute little buttons with the days of the week on them are from Ormolu. And the journal cards are from Ali’s 2011 Week in the Life kit at Designer Digitals.)DSC_0751copy

DSC_0752copyTuesday

(The letter stickers I used for the first page of each day are from Amy Tangerine’s Thickers collection.)

DSC_0754copy

DSC_0757copy

DSC_0760copy

Wednesday

DSC_0764copy

DSC_0765copy

DSC_0768copy

Thursday

DSC_0772copy

DSC_0776copy

DSC_0780copy

Friday

DSC_0781copy

DSC_0785copy

DSC_0786copy

Saturday

DSC_0787copy

DSC_0793copy

DSC_0795copy

Sunday

DSC_0799copy

DSC_0803copy

And there you have it. I am really glad I did this project (and finished it 🙂 ) I LOVE doing Project Life, but since that’s an ongoing process through the year, I don’t often get that satisfaction of completion. So this was fun for me.

The best part? When I showed it to my husband he said, “This is really nice, hon! The kids will love looking at this some day!”

11 thoughts on “a project completed | week in the life

  1. I love how it turned out! I’m so lucky to have such creative ladies to be inspired by in my life. This is so special for your kids to look at and for you all have the memories of! You make me want to go to the basement and get to work… it’s very scary down there though!

  2. What fun to have it finished!! Congrats!!
    What fun to be able to use your creativity to bless your family!
    A beautiful collection of memories!!

  3. Very nice! Loved seeing the steeple on Sunday. And your kids are so cute! I am afraid of scrap-booking. Give me a scary, dirty, dark creepy basement any day. So much less pressure. And you know when you’re done! =)

  4. Beautiful! Way to go! Love the week idea. I have Lorie’s life completed in probably five albums from birth to high school. Barry? Three pages. Poor guy got the shaft when it comes to scrapbook memories.

Leave a Reply

